Members Login
Heart Failure Standards
Across the region, our partner health systems have agreed to measure and report to the public about how well they met nationally accepted standards for the evaluation and treatment of heart failure.
Patients with heart failure qualify for reporting by Better Health Partnership if they were above the age of 18 and seen on at least
two separate occasions for primary care in the most recent one-year
reporting period.

Heart Failure Evaluation

Heart Failure Evaluation standards describe how well physicians and other health care providers did at getting needed tests done for their patients with heart failure.
Heart Function Evaluation
Test such as "ECHO," to see how well your heart is pumping
Blood Test Performed
Basic Metabolic Panel to check blood chemistry
Weight Checked Regularly
Checks for fluid retention to monitor heart function
Blood Pressure Checked Regularly
Good control reduces heart workload

Heart Failure Treatment

Heart Failure Treatment standard describes how often patients with serious or moderate heart failure (about two of every five of our heart failure patients) were treated with important and appropriate medications.
Receiving Ace/Arb Treatment
Improves heart and kidney function and improves blood pressure
Receiving Beta-Blocker Treatment
Testing urine for kidney function or prescribing an ACE or ARB medication to protect kidneys

Patients with heart failure reported by Better Health Partnership include all patients who:
  1. have a heart failure diagnosis (which is determined by ICD-9 or ICD-10 codes)
  2. are age 18 or older, on the starting date of the reporting period, and
  3. have at least 2 primary care office visits on different days during the reporting period.
Our complete specifications for patient eligibility are available to our Members at this link.

If you would like further information about our measures, please contact us by clicking here.